Why I became vegan & why I am now an ecoethicalvegan

by ecoethicalvegan

I became vegan after reading ‘Skinny Bitch’  For a couple of years prior to reading the first three chapters at Borders Book Store I had slowly but surely been thinking about my ethical food choices.

Way back when I was eighteen years old I became vegetarian because I felt ‘sorry’ for animals for around eighteen months but slowly drifted back to being a full blown meat eater again. Later in life, sometime before walking out of Borders & vowing never to eat meat again I had started eliminating some food animals from my diet.

I stopped eating meats that contained all the nasty stuff like sausages, pork roll, & organ meats like liver, kidney, heart etc ( I know, I know I don’t even want to think about it any more)

The reason I’m talking about this now is because I see another change in myself,  in my spirituality, in my reason for becoming vegan in the first place. Why ‘really’ did I become vegan. What was I driven by, what did I seek to accomplish by choosing to eschew all animal products from my life.

Becoming vegan met all my expectations, I could save the animals, and as a bonus I would be healthy and a little different from mainstream humans, I loved it! it fit the rebel in me. I went online and like a vacuum cleaner I sucked up page after page of forums, blogs, & opinions, but most of all as time went by I found a voice that I didn’t realise was being veganically suppressed deep inside of me.

What was that voice or voices saying to me that niggled away like an annoying drip from your kitchen faucet that never gets fixed, drip, drip, drip.

As I became confident in my veganism I found myself responding to vegan dogma (yes dogma) by questioning it’s unbending ethic. For example I was at a supermarket and the family in front of me,  mum, dad, & two kids clearly didn’t have the means to pay for all their shopping. The shopping included eggs. I felt their embarrassment at not being able to pay (I’ve been there too, it’s not a good feeling) I told them I had a couple’a extra bucks and that they shouldn’t leave the eggs behind and they took me up on my offer. It felt good to help humans! it was in my opnion right to break the ‘rules’ after all humans are animals too.

So the voice that spoke loudest to me wasn’t the vegan ‘save the chickens voice’ it was the ‘help your fellow species’ voice. It’s this fundamental perspective that was speaking the loudest to me, like one of those movies where you see a woman flailing under water trying to find her way back up and finally she breaks the surface and breathes the succulent fresh air of life.

Does that sound a little over the top to you, well it’s meant to evoke exactly that and how important it is that I feel about my respect, not just for non human animals, but for men, women, and children too and for where I draw my moral and ethical line. I believe there are several circumstances where human needs and sometimes ‘wants’ are ethically justifiable.

