Veg*n Curious

by ecoethicalvegan

Have you ever said I’m going to start my diet next week, or I’ll start excercising right after new year, or I’ll quit smoking after I finish this pack of cigerettes or I want to start volunteering to help at the hospice, or perhaps you can think of some other promise that you’ve made to do something just as soon as you get a couple of ‘things’ out of the way.

One promise I made to myself was to learn to play guitar and after about a year I bought a used acoustic guitar and learned to play one song (so far) I’m now planning on learning a second song and I think it’s going to be something Jethro Tull’ish. The reason I’m talking about this is because I think we all have the best of intentions to do something with ourselves that would challenge who we are at the moment, to make ourselves better or to help someone else that may need assistance.

I’d like to encourage you to take that step just as soon as you’re done reading this article. If you’re reading this, chances are you already have a clue about the topic of discussion, of course it’s going to be an admonition of veg*nism and what I’d like to start out by saying is don’t set yourself up for failure, don’t set the bar so high that it appears insurmountable. Start out by taking baby steps like having one meal a day that has no meat on your plate. Breakfast is an easy meal to veg*nise.

For instance you could buy some delicious almond milk and have it ready for tomorrow morning along with your favourite cereal, don’t stress about whether the cereal has some ingredients in it that may or may not be veg*n, you can always deal with that sometime later.

One of the best ways to guarantee that you continue successfully applying your newfound conviction is to surround yourself with some failsafe foods. Next time you’re out at the supermarket instead of reaching for the chicken breast why not try some seitan (wheat meat) which has just as much protein but is sans the cholesterol. Better yet google health food stores in your area and do a little shopping there too, or if that’s too expensive of an option see if you can find a more progressive supermarket. Instead of buying frozen pizza with pepperoni buy one that is advertised as veg*n. Buy some fruit yes! fruit, if it’s sitting around your house maybe you’ll pick it up, peel it, cut it up and eat that instead of a piece of cheese.

The point I’m trying to make is that your best chance of success will be to start right away with your next meal. For those of you that don’t know where to begin here’s a little shopping list that you can try to follow so that there are less chances of slip ups when you’re feeling in the mood for a snack.

Nuts: Pistachios-Walnuts-Almonds-cashews-Peanut or Almond butter
Beans: Baked beans-Black beans (there are spicy/cajuny ones that are awesome at Trader Joes or Wholefoods etc, you can even put them in a wrap)-Chick peas/Garbanzo beans (you can munch on em right out of the can)
Fruit: Strawberries-Blueberries-raspberriesBlackberries-Apples-Pears-Bananas
Tofu: ‘Twin Oaks’ brand from ‘Wholefoods’ especially the herbed one is great, just open up the package cut a couple of slices, it’s delish!
you can also make up a plate of veggies to go with it like grape tomatoes, carrots, cucumber, peppers etc, just add whatever veggie you like to the plate.
Hummus: Trader Joes is the best one I’ve found, the mediterranean one is vegan!
Butter for your toast: Earth Balance is vegan
Pizza: There are frozen pizzas that are veg*n in just about every supermarket.
Sausages: The ‘Field Roast’ brand is my fave but you can also check out the ‘Tofurky brand too’ ok so you’d have to fry this up a bit but it doesn’t take more than a few minutes and you could make a sandwich with them!.
Ice cream: The ‘So Delicious’ brand by ‘Turtle Mountain’ is sooooo delishious!! & veg*n!

ok there’s a few snacks to be getting on with, I hope it’s been helpful even though I didn’t put any work into giving you a ‘formal’ list I think you can see that with just a little bit of planning you can set yourself up for success. If you would like any further help on any of the products I’ve mentioned or for any other products that you are looking for an alternative for then please ask me I’m sure I can help you find what you need.

Good Luck!

